Coeliac Diet (Updated Links Jan 2017)

 

What is coeliac disease ?

This is an autoimmune disases which is triggered by gluten. An autoimmune disease is a disease in which your own body attacks itself.

Because the lining becomes inflammed it can affect the bodies ability to absorb essential nutrients such as iron, folic acid and calcium.

What is gluten ?

It is a type of protein found in the cereals wheat, rye and barley. A few people are also sensitive to oats.

What can you eat ?

  • rice, potato, corn (maize)
  • Codex wheat starch ingredient was first introduced as a basis for the staple gluten-free substitute products like flour and bread to improve the quality and texture of the products.
  • dairy products e.g. eggs, cheese, milk, most yoghurts, whey
  • fruits & vegetables including pulses (peas, beans and lentils)
  • plain meat and fish
  • Mustard is fine – unless it is thickened with flour.
  • Balsamic, cider, sherry, white wine and red wine vinegars are not made from barley.
  • All spirits are fine as distillation removes gluten even if the original material was fermented from wheat.
  • Cider, wine, sherry, spirits, port and liqueur
  • glucose syrups made from wheat or barley, including dextrose
  • wheat-based maltodextrins
  • monosodium glucutamate 
  • yeast
  • distilled ingredients made from cereals which contain gluten, for example, alcoholic spirits

 

  • Malt vinegar is made from fermented barley and trace amounts are present and ok for most people. Small amounts are in lipstick and makeup.
  • A very small number of people are still sensitive to pure oats.
  •  Most people with coeliac disease can eat oats but many oats are produced in the same place as wheat, barley and rye which makes them unsafe.

What you can’t eat

Gluten as stated is in mainly in wheat, barley and rye.

Normal breads, cakes, biscuits, pizzas, pasta as made from flour.

Fish and chips due to the batter.

  • Foods made from flour are a no-go area and because flour is used as a thickener
  • Soups with wheat flour as a thickener.
  • Soy sauce which is made from wheat.
  • All beer, lagers, stouts.
  • Some cheap sausages with lower percentage of meat use cereal based filler.

 

 

Links :

Click on the image below to take you to the coeliac disease information page.

https://www.celiac.org/

The above links to the coeliac diseases website.

Their phone number is 0845-3052060.

 

 

 

Comments are closed.